10 Code.org educators honored by the White House

Ten of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching went to Code.org educators.

2 min readMar 18, 2022

In February, President Joe Biden named 117 teachers, mentors, and mentoring organizations as recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) and Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM).

Of those 117 honorees, 10 are Code.org educators, including:

Khamphet Pease — San Diego, CA

Julie Fry — Yakima, WA

Leona Williams — Wilmington, DE

Lisa Taylor — Springdale, AR

Sara Hoover — Mishawaka, IN

Silvia Miranda — Clovis, NM

Stephanie Basile — Northglenn, CO

Tristan Bowen — Bedford, NH

Wrayna Fairchild — Honolulu, HI

See the full list of honorees here.

Established by Congress in 1983, the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the highest honors bestowed on teachers of K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science by the United States government. According to the award’s official site, this honor recognizes teachers who have both a deep knowledge of the subjects they teach as well as the ability to motivate students to be successful in those areas.

“Code.org is a highly motivational platform all my students enjoy,” says winner and Code.org teacher Julie Fry of Yakima, Washington. “I strongly believe it supports the idea that all young children can learn to be habitual problem solvers!”

“I am deeply appreciative of the inspiration that America’s teachers and mentors provide every day to support the next generation of STEM professionals,” President Biden said. “The dedication these individuals and organizations have demonstrated to prepare students for careers in STEM fields, during what has been a difficult time for teachers, students, and families, plays a huge role in American innovation and competitiveness. The work that teachers and mentors do ensures that our nation’s children are able to unlock — for themselves and all of us — a world of possibilities.”

“Winning the PAEMST award is both humbling and empowering,” says winner and Code.org teacher Silvia Miranda of Clovis, New Mexico. “I am honored, as a minority woman, to have a platform to help increase diversity and equity in STEM education.”

Winners receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation, and a paid trip to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.

Anyone — administrators, teachers, parents, students, and more — can nominate fantastic teachers, so if YOU know a great computer science teacher, nominate them for the award this fall!

— Samantha Urban Tarrant, Code.org




Code.org® is dedicated to expanding access to computer science increasing participation by young women and students from other underrepresented groups.